Home   »   Wow Region / Page   »   Canada

Select a Location


Canada at a glance

Canada supports the second largest gray wolf population in the world, after Russia. Wolf habitat is diverse in this large country where, historically, wolves ranged in most areas. Currently, wolves in Canada occupy approximately 90 percent of their historic range (range lines not depicted). The 10 percentage without wolves is primarily near the southern border, except near Lake Superior where wolves still live. See individual provinces.

Species Information

Species 1
Common Name: gray wolf, western wolf, loup (French)
Latin Name: Canis lupus
Location: Northern and western Canada, Great Lakes Area of Canada and United States

Arctic wolf

Arctic wolf

Dominant pair

Great Lakes wolf

Northwestern wolf

Northwestern wolf

Gray Wolf Region 1
Common Name: Arctic wolf
Location: Canadian and Alaskan Arctic
Gray Wolf Region 2
Common Names: Great Lakes wolf, great plains wolf, timber wolf, buffalo wolf
Location: South-central Canada primarily around the Great Lakes
Gray Wolf Region 3
Common Names: northwestern wolf, Rocky Mountain wolf, McKenzie Valley wolf
Location: Western Canada into Alaska
Eastern/eastern timber wolf

Eastern/eastern timber wolf

Species 2 – Under debate within the scientific community
Common Name: eastern wolf, eastern timber wolf
Latin Name: Canis lycaon
Location: Great Lakes Area of United States and Canada, Southeastern Canada

Current Wolf Population, Trend, Status
Number of wolves: Approximately 60,000
Population trend: Stable/increasing
Legal status: The gray wolf is a game species in most of Canada. The “Algonquin” or eastern wolf is listed as a Species of Special Concern under Canada’s Species At Risk Act (SARA) and is protected. Approximately 10.5 – 12.3 percent of Canada’s wolf population is harvested annually.

Most recent data available: 2018

Human Relationships

Recovery and Management

Wolf-Human Interactions


Gray Wolf Biology


British Columbia Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Ontario Quebec Yukon Territory Northwest Territories Newfoundland and Labrador Nunavut